My friend Juan contacted me recently asking if I wanted to take part in an auction at his workplace. This workplace happens to be a fancy animation company in the Bay Area (that is not Pixar), which sounded like a really fun opportunity to help raise money for AIDS/Breast Cancer awareness.

For this piece I attempted the method that Bill Presing uses on his paintings. (Thanks for the tips, Bill!) It involves laying down an acrylic underpainting and using concentrated watercolor over the top. It’s an interesting way to work and definitely produces different results from traditional watercolor painting.

Here is the pencil sketch transferred to the fancy Somerset paper:

After the underpainting has been laid down (I probably should have done more layers):

With color!

The final framed piece!

